Getting Ready For My Trip, Thumbnails

7 May

Next Month I am taking a trip to Los Angeles with a friend, and we will be doing some Mozart Project Shoots: “Don Giovanni”, “Thamos, King of Egypt” and “The Philosopher’s Stone”. I am very busy getting ready, and my blog will probably be pretty sparse until June. It takes just as much time to document the things I make as it does to make them, and right now I don’t really have much time to post.

However, I am going to show you a little about how I work when I photograph. Whenever I take a trip, I have a list of all the costume items every character in the photo wears, and I also have a picture list with little sketches of the images I need to take.

Before I shoot, I draw thumbnails of the images I need to take, and the check them off when they’re complete. Here are a few examples of the thumbnail compared to the image I took.

These little thumbnail sketches are drawn a day or a week before the shoot. As you can see, I have a pretty good idea of what image I need before I go into a photo shoot.

Some more thumbnails from Lucio Silla and Die Schuldigkeit des Ersten Gebots.

After I read “The Marriage of Figaro”, the reunion scene stuck out in my mind for many years. I drew a picture, or took a picture of this scene every year for three years! It’s still my favorite scene in the play. (Maybe my favorite scene out of all drama that I’ve encountered.) The song is “Riconosci in Questo amplesso”, a sextet from Act III, if you’re interested. I also drew a thumbnail of this image before I photographed the models.

Figaro Sketch and Pic

My original color drawing of the Figaro reunion was made back in 2002, the thumbnail a few days before the shoot in 2008 and the final image shortly after.

So, this is something that I have to do for my upcoming trip as well, and for Thamos in particular, I haven’t fully got down all the images I need in my mind yet. Drawing some sketches will help me out!

I’m sorry in advance if the blog slows down for a few weeks, but I assure you, it will pick up once I go to LA! Maybe I’ll even be able to post every day if I’m not too bewildered!

2 Responses to “Getting Ready For My Trip, Thumbnails”

  1. Michelle G. May 7, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I’m loving this blog! Keep it up!

    • tysonvick May 7, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      I’m glad! I hope my trip will be very successful and then I’ll have even more to blog about!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

