Idomeneo – Idamante’s Costume

10 Nov

Idomeneo is an opera about a heroic teenage boy who slays a sea monster (Opera scholars might disagree). But that is how I approached Idamante’s costume for my final photo.

The opera takes place in ancient Crete, and so I went for a Gladiator style costume for the character. I made two pieces, an arm guard and a faux-leather skirt, from my own patterns.

Idamante's Costume for my Idomeno Pictures.

Idamante’s Costume from my Idomeno Pictures seen in detail.

During the shoot, the models had a lot of fun, and you can read about it here.

This is Sparta!!!!

Bowen looking all majestic during some down time at the shoot.

I also made some little lace-up boots which you can see in these outtakes, but I honestly don’t remember doing it. My apprentice at the time, Catey, must have done most of the work.

Chantell gets all stabby, while Bowen observes the Lake in the traditional Lewis & Clark manner.

Chantell gets all stabby, while Bowen observes Flathead Lake in the traditional Lewis & Clark manner.

Remember to subscribe to get all these post in your inbox!

2 Responses to “Idomeneo – Idamante’s Costume”

  1. michaelcollinssinger November 10, 2014 at 5:01 am #

    Just came across this blog when searching for opera content. Amazing costumes. I wish some productions I’ve been in had someone like you to think so carefully about the characters.

    • tysonvick November 10, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words!

Leave a Reply

