Grabmusik – Angel Costume

15 Dec

Grabmusik is a very early work by a young Mozart. It means “Funeral Music” in English, and tells the brief story of a newly departed soul being guided to heaven by an Angel.

I chose to illustrate this short piece early on when I was considering illustrating all of Mozarts works, but this is one of the only non-operatic pieces that got the photo treatment in the end.

The Angel 

The Angel wears a beautifully detailed white corset with numerous bridal style details, as well as an expensive and flowy silk chiffon chemise.

Grabmusik by Tyson Vick

Grabmusik by Tyson Vick (Models: Natasha, Dillan)

Once again, the details of the costume I made do not show up in the final image, which is something I learned to plan around late in my photo taking (I’ve been at this for ten years). However, the corset is made of white and ivory dupioni silk.

Vanessa Genieva Williams models my corset for Etsy.

Vanessa Genieva Williams models my corset for Etsy.

The corset features so many things I got on clearance in the bridal section. There are appliques, frogs, trim and lace. The white and ivory silks, which don’t really show up in these images, alternate, and the fabric over the bust is pleated.

Bridal Corset fully spread out.

Bridal Corset fully spread out.

The bridal trim at the top of the corset is beaded and has sequins which matches the appliques.

Bridal Corset front details.

Bridal Corset front details.

This was the third corset I ever made, and I was playing around with different ways to add detailing to an already existent structure. The corset itself is entirely a Rococo corset, with no alteration, underneath the fancy facade.

Close up of the details, pleating, frogs and applique.

Close up of the details, pleating, frogs and applique.

The boning in the corset is snap steel, and I believe it is actually too heavily boned to be comfortable. The bones have very little give, and so while it supports very well, if the model doesn’t fit exactly into it, it can press uncomfortably on the ribs which is an unwanted effect. The corset is too solidly put together to replace the boning, though, without lots of effort, and so I have a hard time deciding whether to sell this on Etsy or keep it because of all the work I put into it.

Vanessa Genieva Williams in the corset.

Vanessa Genieva Williams in the corset.

You’ll pardon these terrible pictures of this chemise. My camera was having an off day, and the light was low outside and the kitchen light must have also been on because they have a horrible green cast from one side and an awful cyan cast from the other. But, this is the Chemise.

Silk Chemise worn under the corset.

Silk Chemise worn under the corset.

Yikes. I don’t even want to show you this picture, so I’m sorry, but that’s the only one I have of the whole chemise. I need a better one before I try to sell it, because it is so soft and flowy and made from $90/yard fabric. I just know it can find a home if it’s marketed on my Etsy shop correctly.

If you like getting costume updates, please subscribe to my blog! I’m hard at work on the book of my Mozart Illustrations, and can’t wait to share more updates soon!

Leave a Reply

